National Sports Awards

National Sports Awards 2020

The Union Government bestows National Sports Awards every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports in India. These awards include Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dronacharya Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar . These are awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

  • It is the highest rank National Sports Award in India.
  • Started in the year 1991, the first recipient of the award was Vishwanathan Anand in 1992-1993.
  • Initially, the government of India gave this award for outstanding performance in the field of sports for one year, but this duration was changed to four years in the year 2015.
  • As of 2017, the award comprises a medal, a certificate, and a cash prize of ₹7.5 lakh.
  • Awardees from Rajasthan:

Dronacharya Award

  • Officially known as Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games.
  • As of 2017, the award comprises a bronzes statuette of Dronacharya, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of ₹5 lakh.
  • Awardees from Rajasthan:
    • 1987: Guru Hanuman – Wrestling
    • 1995: Shri Karan singh
    • 1995: Shri Shyamsundar Rao – Volleyball
    • 2005: Shri Maha Singh – Wrestling
    • Shri R.D. Singh
    • 2012: Shri Virendra Poonia – Atheletics

Arjuna Award

  • Given to a sportsperson who has consistently exhibited outstanding performance for four years.
  • Started in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of ₹ 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
  • Awardees from Rajasthan

Dhyan Chand Award

  • Officially known as Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games.
  • As of 2016, the award comprises a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of ₹5 lakh

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy

  • Awarded to Universities for the performances of the students of the universities in  Olympic Games/ Paralympic Games and other games included in award list.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

  • This scheme was introduced by government in 2009 to encourage involvement of corporates and sports promotion boards in the development of sports in the country.
  • According to the revised plan, this scheme will be given in following four categories. They are:
    • Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent.
    • Encouragement of sports through Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).
    • Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures.
    • Sports for Development.

The revised Scheme, prescribes the eligibility criteria for all four categories.

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR): Corporates now can spend and provide funds for promotion and development of sports from the funds earmarked for CSR. In this regard, training to promote rural sports, nationally recognized sports, Paralympic sports and Olympic sports have been included in the Schedule VII of the Companies Act, 2013.

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs): In case of NGOs, who are working in promotion and development of sports, a separate category, Sports for Development has been provided for the NGOs in order to recognize their contributions.

error: Content is protected !!