Special Area Development Programmes in Rajasthan

Special Area Development Programmes in Rajasthan

The area development programmes lay focus on development of special region or area.

Mewat Area Development Programme

The area inhabited by Mev’s is known as Mewat area. The Mev community is concentrated in 12 blocks of Alwar and Bharatpur Districts. The Mev are still socially and economically backward and hence, Rajasthan Government is running a special development program since 1987-88 for overall development of Mewat area.

Border Area Development Programme (BADP)

The Border Area Development Programme (BADP) was introduced during the 7th Five Year Plan as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS). The BADP is a Central Government intervention strategy to bring about a balanced development of border areas.

The programme is being implemented in 16 Blocks of 4 Border Districts, namely Barmer, Bikaner, Ganganagar and Jaisalmer. Under BADP, majority of the funds are invested for security related activities. However, since the border districts have poor social and economic infrastructure development activities are also provided due importance.

Dang Area Development Programme

Dang Area Development Programme has been re-launched in 2004-05 by Government of Rajasthan. The Programme covers 394 Gram Panchayats of 26 Panchayat Samities of 8 Districts (Sawai Madhopur, Karauli, Dholpur, Baran, Jhalawar, Bharatpur, Kota and Bundi).

Magra Area Development Programme

The central Southern part of Rajasthan surrounded by hills specially Ajmer, Bhilwara, Pali, Chittorgarh and Rajsamand and not covered under Tribal Area Development (TAD) is locally known as “Magra”

To improve social and economic status of residents, the “Magra Area Development Programme” was initiated since 2005-06 in 14 Blocks of above 5 districts. At present it is being implemented in 16 blocks in above districts. Activities of Watershed Development, Minor Irrigation, Animal Husbandry, Drinking Water, Education, Electrification, Health and Road Construction are undertaken for development of the area.

Other Programs:

  • Integrated Wasteland Development Program
  • Drought Prone Area Program
  • Desert Development Program
  • Tribal Area Development Program
error: Content is protected !!