September: Persons in News, Sports News

September Person in NEWS:

  • Former Finance Secretary Ashok Chawla has been appointed as the new Chancellor of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) University.
  • Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Chairperson and Managing Director of Biocon Limited was appointed Knight of the National Order of the French Legion of Honour (Chevalier de l’Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur).
  • Governor of Maharashtra Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao, was sworn in as the acting Governor of Tamil Nadu.
  • Mother Teresa, a Roman Catholic religious sister and missionary was proclaimed a Saint by Pope Francis in a ceremony at the Vatican. She was canonised at the ceremony held in St Peter’s Square in Vatican.
  • Noted Assamese poet, author and literary critic Nalinidhar Bhattacharyya passed away in Guwahati, Assam due to age-old ailments.
  • Eminent economist, consultant and banker Dr. Urjit Patel has assumed charge as the 24th Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).
  • Assam-based ecologist and conservation activist Bibhuti Lahkar has won prestigious ‘Heritage Heroes Award’ of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).
  • CK Asnani has taken charge as the Chairman and Managing Director (CMD) of state owned Uranium Corporation of India Limited (UCIL).
  • Stuart Blackburn’s Novel based on Apatani tribe of Arunachal Pradesh titled “Into the Hidden Valley” has won 2016 MM Bennetts Award for Historical Fiction in the United Kingdom.
  • The Union Government has appointed S. Sivakumar as a full-time Member of the 21st Law Commission of India (LCI). He is the professor at the Indian Law Institute (ILI) in New Delhi. He hails from Kerala and has authored several books on law.
  • Union Government has chosen 105-year-old Kunwar Bai from Chhattisgarh’s Dhamtari district as the ‘Swachh Bharat Abhiyan’ mascot. PM Modi felicitated the old but spirited lady at a function held in New Delhi to mark ‘Swachhta Diwas’ on September 17, 2016.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed former IAS officer Alka Sirohi as chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per Article 316 of Constitution.
  • In Indian-origin South African Ravi Reddy has been appointed as the Head of International Society for Blood Transfusion (ISBT).
  • Anandi Ramalingam has assumed charge as Director Marketing of the Public sector Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL).
  • Renowned Hindi and Urdu writer, playwright and television personality Reoti Saran Sharma passed away in New Delhi. He was 92. He was pioneer in radio plays in All India Radio (AIR). For his contribution to theatre (dramatic literature and performance) he was conferred with Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in 2007.
  • Senior IPS officer R. K. Pachnanda was appointed as Director General of National Disaster Response Force (NDRF). He is a 1983 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer from West Bengal cadre. Prior to this appointment he was serving as ADG of Central Industrial Security Force (CISF).
  • Jim Yong Kim has been re-appointed as President of World Bank for a second five-year term beginning 1 July 2017. The Executive Directors of the World Bank unanimously chose him.
  • Noted Dalit voice, poet and Telugu writer Prof.Kalakaluri Enoch was conferred with the prestigious Moortidevi Award of Bharatiya Jnanpith for the year 2015. The prestigious literary award was bestowed upon him, for his novel Anantajivanam by Veteren art historian Dr Kapila Vatsyayana function in New Delhi.

Sports NEWS Wrap up

  • Indian pair of Pranaav Jerry Chopra and N Sikki Reddy have won the 2016 Brazil Open Grand Prix title of Badminton in the mixed doubles category. It was their maiden Grand Prix title.
  • Mariyappan Thangavelu won India’s first gold medal at the 2016 Rio Paralympics. He won the gold medal in the Men’s High Jump T-42 event with jump of 1.89 metres. With this, Thangavelu became the first Indian high jumper to win gold at the Paralympics. This was India’s overall third gold at the Paralympics and the first after 12 years.
  • In addition, India’s Varun Singh Bhati won the bronze medal in same event with the jump of 1.86 metres to finish third. Sam Grewe of United States won the silver medal. India had won its first ever Paralympics Gold medal in the 1972 Heidelberg Games. Swimmer Murlikant Petkar won it.
  • Stan Wawrinka (World no 3) from Switzerland has won the 2016 US Open men’s singles title. This is Wawrinka’s maiden US Open title and his third major title.
  • Deepa Malik has created history by winning silver medal in Women’s shotput at the 2016 Rio Paralympics. With this she becomes first Indian woman to win a medal at the Paralympics. It is India’s 3rd medal in the ongoing Paralympics games at Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    • Malik had won the silver medal in the shotput F-53 event with her best throw of 4.61m in her six attempts.
  • Army Green has won the 2016 Durand Cup Football Title by defeating Neroca FC. It was the 128th edition of the Durand Cup.
  • India’s Devendra Jhajharia (36) has won gold medal in the men’s javelin throw, F46 event held at the 2016 Rio Paralympics. With this, he becomes only the second gold medallist at the Paralympics for the country. He won the gold medal with world-record throw of 63.97 metres.
  • Gautam Gambhir-led India Blue has won the inaugural day/night 2016-17 Duleep Trophy Cricket tournament played with a pink ball. The 2016–17 was 55th season of Duleep Trophy.
  • Cricketers Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma were conferred with the Arjuna Award for their contributions to sport of cricket. The award was bestowed upon them by Union Sports Minister Vijay Goel in New Delhi. Sharma was bestowed with the award for the year 2015 and Rahane for the year 2016.
  • Young Indian shooter Subhankar Pramanick has won the gold medal at the ISSF Junior World Cup for pistol, rifle and shotgun in Gabala, Azerbaijan.
  • India’s Priyesha Deshmukh (23) has won a historic bronze medal in the first World Deaf Shooting Championships held in in Kazan, Russia.
  • India’s squash player Velavan Senthilkumar has won the Under-19 Asian Junior Individual squash championship title.
  • India’s Pinky Balhara has won bronze medal in the sporting event of kurash at the 5th Asian Beach Games held at Da Nang, Vietnam.
  • Indian paddler Sathiyan Gnanasekaran has won the Belgium Open title of the table tennis in the men’s singles category. This was his first his first pro title.
  • Indian women’s beach kabaddi team has won the gold medal at the 5th Asian Beach Games held in Danang, Vietnam.


error: Content is protected !!