Person in News: Dec 2016 – March 2017


  • The Union Government has given senior IPS officer Rakesh Asthana additional charge of the post of Director, Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).
  • UAE based Indian environmental activist Kehkashan Basu (16) has won 2016 prestigious International Children’s Peace Prize.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee appointed Anil Baijal, former bureaucrat, as the 21st Lieutenant Governor of Delhi.
  • The Union Government has appointed Viral V Acharya as new Deputy Governor at the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).
  • Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has appointed Surekha Marandi as its Executive Director (ED). She was appointed in place of U S Paliwal who retired on December 31, 2016.
  • Edappadi K Palaniswamy was sworn in as the 13th chief minister of Tamil Nadu.
  • Eminent Rajasthani litterateur Dr Satya Narayan was chosen for the 26th Bihari Puraskar 2016 by the K K Birla Foundation. He was been chosen for his Hindi book titled Yeh Ek Dunia published in 2010.
  • Eminent modern Bengali poet Shankha Ghosh was chosen for the prestigious Jnanpith Award for the year 2016.
  • Kaisa Matomaki and Maksym Radziwill have been jointly won the 2016 SASTRA-Ramanujan award for mathematics for their ‘revolutionary’ collaborative work on short intervals in number theory.
  • Union Government has appointed senior IPS officer Anil Dhasmana as new chief of Research and Analysis Wing (RAW), India’s external intelligence agency.
  • Union Government has appointed Gen. Bipin Rawat as new Chief of Army Staff (CoAS). He succeeds Army Chief General Dalbir Singh who retires on December 31, 2016.
  • Union government has appointed senior IPS officer Rajiv Jain as the new chief of Intelligence Bureau (IB).
  • Union Government has appointed Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa as the next Chief of the Air Staff of the Indian Air Force (IAF).
  • Former Portuguese Prime Minister Antonio Guterres was sworn in as the 9th UN Secretary-General.
  • Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo from Portugal has won the prestigious 2016 FIFA Ballon d’Or Award. He has earned this title of world’s best football player for fourth time. Earlier he had won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013 and 2014.
  • Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar (64)will be the next Chief Justice of India (CJI). He is the 44th CJI and shall succeed Chief Justice TS Thakur who retired on January 3, 2017.
  • Sprint king Usain Bolt from Jamaica has been awarded the 2016 IAAF World Athlete of the Year award in male category for sixth time.
  • Indian-origin British professor of chemistry and DNA expert at Cambridge University Shankar Balasubramanian received Knighthood from Queen Elizabeth II for their contributions. He was recognised for his work as a co-inventor of Next Generation DNA sequencing (also known as Solexa sequencing), described as the most transformational advance in biology and medicine for decades.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Prof David R Syiemlieh as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per Article 316 of Constitution.
  • Delhi Police Commissioner and Senior IPS officer Alok Kumar Verma was appointed as new Director of the Central Bureau of Investigation. He will have tenure of two years.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Dr Vijay Bhatkar, architect of India’s first supercomputer the Param series, as the chancellor of Nalanda University.
  • Union Government has appointed Narendra Kumar as the new chairman of the Central Water Commission (CWC).
  • Eminent Konkani writer Mahabaleshwar Sail was selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman 2016 for his novel Hawthan.
  • Senior tribal leader from Chhattisgarh and ex-parliamentarian Nand Kumar Sai took charge as Chairperson of National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST) in Delhi.
  • Shurhozelie Liezitsu was sworn-in as the 17th Chief Minister of Nagaland.
  • Grandmaster Magnus Carlsen of Norway has won the 2016 World Chess Championship for the third consecutive time.
  • The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has appointed senior bureaucrat Ajay Tyagi as the new chairman of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI).
error: Content is protected !!