India Honor (Award) System

India has a distinguished  award system for both its civilians and military personnel. The award system is divided into various  categories depending upon roles & situations. Have a look,

  • 1st Bharat Ratna: Highest Civilian Honor.
  • 2nd Padma Vibhushan awarded for for ‘exceptional and distinguished service’.
  • 3rd Padma Bhushan awarded for for ‘distinguished service of a high order’.
  • 4th Padma Shri: awarded for ‘distinguished service’.


Wartime gallantry awards

Param Vir Chakra (PVC)
Maha Vir Chakra (MVC)
Vir Chakra (VrC)

Peacetime gallantry awards

Ashok Chakra (AC)
Kirti Chakra (KC)
Shaurya Chakra (SrC)

Distinguished Service & Gallantry medals

Sena Medal (Army) (SM)
Nausena Medal (Navy) (NM)
Vayusena Medal (Air Force) (VM)

Wartime distinguished service medals

Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal (SYSM)
Uttam Yudh Seva Medal (UYSM)
Yudh Seva Medal (YSM)

Peacetime distinguished service medals

Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM)
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM)
Vishisht Seva Medal (VSM)

 The 2016 List of Gallantry Awardees include:
Gallantry Awards
 The 2016 List of Civilian  Awardees Include:

Padma Vibhushan
Pdma Bhushan 

error: Content is protected !!