Administrative Setup of Rajasthan

Administrative Setup of Rajasthan

Administrative Setup of Rajasthan: The state of Rajasthan has been divided into 33 districts. However, from administration point of view, there is a multi-layer structure of administration. The State of Rajasthan is divided into 7 divisions, these divisions include within them group of districts. Each of the districts is divided into Sub-division consisting of Tehsils, sub-tehsils and villages.

Divisions in Rajasthan

  • Ajmer Division: Includes 4 districts Ajmer, Bhilwara, Nagaur, Tonk.
  • Bharatpur Division: Includes 4 districts Bharatpur, Dholpur, Karauli, Sawai Madhopur.
  • Bikaner Division: Includes 4 districts Bikaner, Churu, Sri Ganganagar, Hanumangarh
  • Jaipur Division: Includes 5 districts Alwar, Dausa, Jaipur, Jhunjhunun, Sikar.
  • Jodhpur Division (Largest by Area): Includes 6 districts. Barmer, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jodhpur, Pali, Sirohi.
  • Kota Division: Includes 4 districts. Baran, Bundi, Jhalawar, Kota.
  • Udaipur Division: Includes 6 districts. Banswara, Chittorgarh, Dungarpur, Rajsamand, Pratapgarh, Udaipur.

The main officer in-charge of governance, administration and inter-departmental coordination is Divisional Commissioner. He/She is also responsible for monitoring all schemes for all round development of the division.

District Administration:

  • Below the divisions functions the most important unit of administration i.e. districts.
  • The main officer in-charge of district administration is District Collector.

Sub-Divisional Administration

  • The sub-divisional administration functions between district and tehsil level.
  • There are 244 Sub-divisions in Rajasthan.
  • Sub-Divisional Officer is responsible for administration. Like Collector, he also responsible for revenue functions and general administration.
  • SDO reports to the district collector.

Administrative Setup of Tehsil

  • Administratively, tehsil is the smallest unit but very significant unit.
  • Tehsil is the basic unit for purposes of general administration, treasury, land revenue, land records and other items of work
  • There are 287 tehsils in Rajasthan
  • In some big-tehsils, there are also sub-tehsils. Tehsildar is the officer in-charge of Tehsil whereas Naib-tehsildar is the officer in-charge of sub-tehsil.


error: Content is protected !!