National Games of India

National Games of India

The National Games comprises various disciplines in which sportsmen from the different states of India participate against each other.

Brief History of National Games of India:

The genesis of the National Games is in the Olympic movement, which gathered momentum in the country in the 1920’s. There was a  need to identify national talent that could be picked for the Olympic Games. With this idea, Dr. A. G. Noehren (Director YMCA) and Harry Crowe Buck (founder of YMCA College in Madras), conceptualised the idea of a sporting event to assimilate and channel the energy of the youth. The culmination of their efforts was the launching of the 1st edition of the Indian Olympic Games at Lahore (now in Pakistan) in February 2924 to select Indian competitors for the 1924 Paris Olympics.

The games were then held every two years, and were renamed as National-Games, after the eighth edition (1938) in Calcutta, during the 9th Games in Bombay in 1940. The city of Lucknow hosted the first National-Games post-independence and the first National Games got rechristened on the lines of the Olympics in 1985 at New Delhi. The 25th edition of National-Games was held in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala in 2015.

The National Games are also held solely within the jurisdiction of the Indian Olympic Association.
National Games of India Timeline

error: Content is protected !!