Rulers of Pratapgarh

In the 14th century, Maharana Kumbha (1433–1468) ruled ruled mewar with capital at Chittorgarh. Due to a dispute, Kumbha expelled his younger brother Kshemkarn (1437–1473), from his territory. Kshemkarn’s family too refuge in the Aravali ranges, in the southernmost part of Mewar regime.

In 1514, Kshemkarn’s son Prince Surajmal (1473–1530) became the ruler of Devalia (Devgarh) and established his capital of ‘Kanthal-Desh‘ at Dewaliya (also called Devgarh).

As the climate of Devgarh was not found to be suitable by the royal family, one of the descendants of Surajmal, Maharawat Pratapsingh of 10th generation (1673–1708) started to build a new town near native village Devgarh in 1689–1699 and named it as Partapgarh,

At that time, the area of Pratapgarh was reported to be about 889 square miles, whereas Dhariyawad, another small town near Pratapgarh, was founded by Rana Sahasmal, the grandson of legendary Maharana Pratap in the mid 15th century.

Rulers of Dewaliya:

  • Soorajmal (1473–1530)
    • Founded Dewaliya, predecessor to Pratapgarh.
  • Bagh Singh (1530–1535),
  • Rai Singh (1535–1552),
  • Vikram Singh (1552–1563),
  • Tej Singh (1563–1593),
  • Bhanu Singh (1593–1597),
  • Singha (1597–1628),
  • Jaswant Singh (1628)
  • Hari Singh (1628–1673)

Rulers of Pratapgarh

  • Maharawat Pratap Singh (1673–1708),
    • Founder Pratapgarh
  • Prithwi Singh (1708–1718),
  • Sangram Singh (1718–1719)
  • Ummed Singh (1719–1721)
  • Gopal Singh (1721–1756)
  • Saalim Singh (1756–1774)
    • Obtained written permission from the then Mughal king Shah Alam II to introduce a local currency for his state and named it as Saalimshahi-Sikka(coin), which was made in a local mint-(Partabgarh-Taksal).
  • Maharawat Saamant Singh (1774–1844)
    • North-western part of this region had very dense forests, a separate state forest department in 1828, was created to manage state’s exceptionally rich forest-wealth.
  • Maharawat Dalpat singh (1844–1864)
  • Maharawat Uday Singh (1864–1890)
    • Introduced some reforms, established civil courts, started relief works during the notorious Great Famine of 1876-78, opened fair price shops for the citizens and also exempted certain civilian taxes.
    • Uday Singh built a new palace in Pratapgarh for himself in the year 1867 AD more or less on the lines of those built by the Britishers and started living there.
  • Maharawat Raghunath Singh (1890–1929)
  • Maharawat Sir Ram Singh (1929–1940)
  • Ambika Pratap Singh (1940–1948)
    • Who lives in Pune after leaving his native place.
error: Content is protected !!