List of British Governors-General and Viceroy of India

Governor Genral Timeline Important Facts
Warrne Hastings 1773-1785
Lord Cornwollis 1786-1793 Permanent Settlement Bengal 1793
#rowspan# #rowspan# Credited for Civil Services
Sir John Shore 1793-1798
Lord Wellesley 1798-1805 Introduced Subsidiary alliance system
Sir George Barlow 1805-1807
Lord Minto I 1807-1813
Lord Hastings 1813-1823 Thomas Munro established Ryotwari system in 1820 in Madras
Lord Amherst 1823-1828
Lord William Bentick 1828-1835 Abolition of Sati
Lord Metcalfe 1835-1836 Removed restriction of Press
Lord Auckland 1836-1842
Lord Ellenborough 1842-1844
Lord Hardinge I 1844-1848 Abolition of female infanticide & human scarifice
Lord Dalhousie 1848-1856 Doctrine of Lapse
#rowspan# #rowspan# Intrdouced Railway
#rowspan# #rowspan# Introduced Telegraph
#rowspan# #rowspan# Widow Remarriage Act 1856
Lord Canning 1856-1857 Revolt of 1857
#colspan# #colspan#
Viceroy Timeline Important Facts
Lord Canning 1858-1862 Introduced Portfolio System in Administration
Lord Elgin 1862-1863 introduced Wahabi Movement
Lord John Lawerence 1864-1869
Lord Mayo 1869-1872 Introduced State Railways
Lord NorthBrook 1872-1876
Lord Lytton 1876-1880
Lord Ripon 1880-1884 Introduced Local Self Government
Lord Dufferin 1884-1888 Establishment of Indian National Congress
Lord Landsdowne 1888-1894 Durand Commission for Durand Line
Lord Elgin II 1894-1899
Lord Curzon 1889-1905 Partition of Bengal
Lord Minto 1905-1910 Establishment of Muslim league
Lord Hardinge II 1910-1916 Transfer of Capital from Calcutta to Delhi (1911)
Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921 Home Rule Mov(1916)
Lord Reading 1921-1926
Lord Irwin 1926-1931
Lord Willingdon 1931-1936
Lord Linlithgrow 1936-1944
Lord Wavell 1944-1947
Lord Mountbatten 1947-1948
C. Rajagopalachari 1948-26Jan1950
error: Content is protected !!