Scheduled Area of Rajasthan

Scheduled Area of Rajasthan as per 2018 Notification

Scheduled Area of Rajasthan comprises of eight districts of south eastern part of the State including  5697 villages of the southern part of Rajasthan. Here, areas having tribal population more than 50 percent have been declared as Scheduled Areas by the Government of India through Gazette notification dated 19-05-2018.

राजस्थान के अनुसूचित क्षेत्र – हिंदी में पढ़ें

Constitutional Provisions for Scheduled Areas

To ensure the protection of aboriginal customs, culture of the tribes and prevent alienation of their lands and natural resources to non-tribals, Article 244 of the Constitution has the provision for declaration of Schedule V & Schedule VI areas.

Schedule V areas can be declared in any state except Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram. Consequently, Schedule V areas have been declared in 9 states of India namely Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Orissa and Rajasthan.

Schedule VI has been used to declare schedule areas in  Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.

Map of Scheduled area of Rajasthan
Map of Scheduled area of Rajasthan



  • As per the Census 2011, total population of scheduled area is 64,63,353 out of which 45,57,917 are members of scheduled tribes population, which is 70.43% of the total population of the Scheduled Area.


error: Content is protected !!