Centrally Sponsored Schemes in India

Centrally Sponsored Schemes in India Explained

The Centrally Sponsored Schemes are in Funded both by Centre & States different proportions. Currently, there are 30 centrally sponsored schemes. These are divided into following broad categories:

Centrally Sponsored Schemes:

Core of the core schemes

The six core of the core schemes are:

  1. National Social Assistance Programme
  2. MGNREGA or the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act
  3. Umbrella Scheme for Development of Scheduled Castes
  4. Umbrella Programme for Development of Scheduled Tribes
  5. Umbrella Scheme for Development of Minorities
  6. Umbrella Scheme for Development of Other Vulnerable Groups

Core schemes

There are 29 other centrally sponsored schemes, which are listed under core schemes. Most of the flagship schemes of the Union government are covered under this category. The centrally sponsored core schemes are:

  1. Green Revolution
  2. White Revolution
  3. Blue Revolution
  4. Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana
  5. Border Area Development Programme
  6. Environment Forestry and Wildlife
  7. Infrastructure Facilities for Judiciary
  8. Jal Jeevan Mission (JJM) / National Rural Drinking Water Mission
  9. Jobs & Skill Development
  10. National Mission for Protection and Empowerment of Women
  11. Modernisation of Police Forces
  12. National Education Mission
  13. National Health Mission
  14. National Livelihood Mission – Ajeevika
  15. National Program Mid Day meal in schools
  16. Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna (PMAY)
  17. Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojna
  18. Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojna (PMKSY)
  19. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Rurban Mission
  20. Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (RGSA)
  21. Swachch Bharat Mission  – Urban (SBM – Urban)
  22. Swachch Bharat Mission  – Rural (SBM – Rural)
  23. Umbrella ICDS
  24. Urban Rejuvenation Mission: AMRUT and Smart Cities Mission
  25. Rashtriya pashudhan Vikas Yojana
  26. Mission Vatsalya [Child Protection Services & Child Welfare Services]
  27. Prime Minister Formalisation of Micro Food Processing Enterprises Scheme (PM-FME)
  28. Saksham Anganwadi & Poshan 2.0 [Umbrella ICDS-Anganwadi Services, Poshan Abhiyan, Scheme for Adolescent Girls, National Creche Scheme]
  29. Mission Shakti


  • These Central Government Schemes are as per Union Budget 2021-22 – Download PDF
error: Content is protected !!